Skip to content
  • Categories
  • Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Users
  • Groups
Skins
  • Light
  • Brite
  • Cerulean
  • Cosmo
  • Flatly
  • Journal
  • Litera
  • Lumen
  • Lux
  • Materia
  • Minty
  • Morph
  • Pulse
  • Sandstone
  • Simplex
  • Sketchy
  • Spacelab
  • United
  • Yeti
  • Zephyr
  • Dark
  • Cyborg
  • Darkly
  • Quartz
  • Slate
  • Solar
  • Superhero
  • Vapor

  • Default (Flatly)
  • No Skin
Collapse
Brand Logo

NetXMS Forum

  1. Home
  2. Support
  3. Syslog retention when deleting a node

Syslog retention when deleting a node

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Support
2 Posts 2 Posters 12.9k Views
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • D
    D
    Derwood1985
    wrote on last edited by
    #1

    Hi all,

    Hoping someone might know the answer, we are looking to retain the audits, events, DCI's and Syslogs etc for node's that are being decommissioned, we are needing to keep this information for over a rolling year.
    As I understand you can change the IP and Node name etc without loosing this information, but when decommissioning and deleting the node, the logs when searching in the client cannot found (this makes sense as the node is no longer there).
    But is the information still within the database or are these removed too?

    I'm not a sysadmin and have very little experience with databases so do not want to break anything should I go looking.

    I see that NetXMS V6 has a inbuilt decommissioning function (which is great), but we cannot roll this out quickly as it would need to be signed of and a whole new project started for this to get off the ground.

    Thanks
    Darren

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
    • F
      F
      Filipp Sudanov
      wrote on last edited by
      #2

      Audit log is retained after node deletion, same for syslog.

      For event log there's Events.DeleteEventsOfDeletedObject setting in Configuration->Server Configuration, if set to true (default), they are deleted. And there's similar setting for alarms - Alarms.DeleteAlarmsOfDeletedObject.

      DCI data is deleted.

      If database is Postgres Timescale, then event log and DCI history is not deleted.

      In all above situations when data is not deleted, it would be problematic to view it since you need to know node's ID.

      New decommissioning functionality is basically node unmanage with addition of automatic deletion at later time. So for now you can just unmanage your nodes.

      1 Reply Last reply
      0

      Hello! It looks like you're interested in this conversation, but you don't have an account yet.

      Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

      With your input, this post could be even better 💗

      Register Login
      Reply
      • Reply as topic
      Log in to reply
      • Oldest to Newest
      • Newest to Oldest
      • Most Votes


      • Login

      • Don't have an account? Register

      • Login or register to search.
      Powered by NodeBB Contributors
      • First post
        Last post
      0
      • Categories
      • Recent
      • Tags
      • Popular
      • Users
      • Groups